The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) funds and supports U.S. artists through partnerships with local, state, and federal agencies. The NEA celebrates the diverse cultural heritage of the United States and works to promote equal access to the arts in all communities.

The NEA National Heritage Fellowships were created to recognize artists who cultivate a public appreciation for traditional art forms through their own exceptional artistry. Honorees are nominated by individuals and are recommended each year by a rotating panel of specialists representing a variety of forms of cultural expertise. When awarded, recipients receive a monetary stipend to support their work.


Past Oregon recipients of the NEA National Heritage Fellows include:

Feryal Abbasi-Ghnaim, 2018

Pat Courtney Gold, 2007

Yuqin Wang, 2004

Kevin Burke, 2002

Sophia George, 1998

Obo Addy, 1996

Eva Castellanoz, 1987

Bua Xou Mua, 1985

Duff Severe, 1982